Here Comes the Sun.

 You meet someone, take them out for dinner, suggest a bottle of wine, sneak in a kiss and somewhere down the line have them fall in love with you. After awhile you begin to spend more and more time with each other, drop the frequent fancy meals; feel more comfortable about calling a burger and fries a date night and begin to pass wind around each other. You no longer have to run out to the local fast food joint to use the toilet for anything other than a wee and may even be brave enough to leave the door open while doing so. Eventually you start planning trips together, buying things together, opening shared bank accounts together and then comes the day you shell out for that wedding ring and play out that out of this world proposal you’ve been planning for awhile. Months of planning lead to a lovely but quaint wedding ceremony, one that’ll have the guests using it as a benchmark for all future weddings, and when the day comes that you have a child together a whole new set of memories will begin to develop.

However, life doesn’t always work out that way. While that hot new Spanish restaurant may have seemed like a great idea at the time, she definitely wasn’t impressed by having to stand in line out in the cold for near on two hours. Realising you haven’t gotten off to the best of starts you decide to order a bottle of wine just to get things headed back in the right direction, only to find out that the 80 dollar bottle of red you’ve just ordered is wasted on her as she’s on medication tonight. By this point you may be a little intoxicated from having to complete that bottle of wine by yourself while she’s still completely sober, so when you go to reach in for that kiss all you end up with is a slap in the face and you asking hopelessly ‘will I be seeing you again?’. Unfortunately for you this is where the line ends and the stop doesn’t read ‘yes you will’.

For the longest time I’d thought to myself that by the time I reached 30 I’d be happily married, doing things that happily married people do and maybe even planning on having kids so that one day I could tell them how I met their mother… Call me Ted. I didn’t think that I’d be finding myself at places like Shark Hotel at 3 am on a Saturday morning chasing tail. I definitely didn’t think that I’d be embarking on my first ever solo trip to some far flung place in order to ‘find myself’. But kids as they say you never know where life is headed and as things go, I do, and I did.

So this my dear readers is how I found myself at the beginning of this month boarding a plane headed for Tokyo. What ensued was 2 weeks of fun, food and alcohol. At times it got a little crazy, maybe even a little stupid, but when you’re in your most favourite place in the world then these things tend to happen. I won’t bore you with anymore of my words so I’ll just leave you with a select bunch of Instagram photos that I snapped along the way and some captions to go along with them. Enjoy.

japan 001Hello Tokyo. It’s been awhile. I missed you.

japan 026When trying to find oneself this is probably the kind of thing you picture in your head.

japan 025Being in Japan though, the journey is always a little prettier and quirkier then what you may have expected.japan 011Before setting out, one must always respect local customs and heed the warning signs.

japan 020Speaking of warning signs…

japan 005On your journey you may meet some gruff looking people.

japan 004But don’t let their appearances fool you, they’re all a very friendly bunch.

japan 045If you’re lucky enough they may even take you a baseball game.

japan 041As you continue on your journey…

japan 042Always be sure to take a moment to look at what surrounds you.

japan 056For you never know what you may miss out on.

japan 055Now all that soul searching will make a grown man hungry. How about some katsu?

japan 017Or maybe some tonkotsu ramen thats been smoked?

japan 032Perhaps soba and tempura is more your thing?

japan 048But then again we’re all a little carb conscious, so how about some clams that have been cooked in sake?

japan 049If thats not filling enough maybe you’d like to hack into a tuna jaw.

japan 018However, if you’re only after a snack maybe some gyoza will do the trick.

japan 019Somehow though you’ll get your appetite back and you’ll end up wanting something hearty. Something like a katsu curry.

japan 021But then you begin to realise you miss the comforts of home just ever so slightly so you treat yourself to something that’s reminiscent of it.

japan 006Perhaps you might get something thats a combination of the two worlds. Perhaps you may just fall in love with a ramen burger.

japan 007I know I did.

japan 034I think the Glico man might have as well.

Goodbye Japan. Till we meet again.

13 Comments

Filed under Japanese, Streetfood, Trumpeting my own horn

13 responses to “Here Comes the Sun.

  1. ainslie

    yes, a journey to eat pray love as always with you, turns out to be a journey of drink, vomit, pass-out………………or at least that’s what I heard!!……but, alas there is not pictorial record of this………i’m glad there is a pic of that katsu curry tho, i’m in love.

  2. Ramen freakin burger!!!!! Welcome back buddy!

  3. Your hair is glorious. Looks like an amazing trip :-)

  4. What a great post! Ah the dating game. It’s a jungle out there. Love the images of your holiday. So funny. Hope it was great xx

  5. Allypoo2

    Wow beautifully written. Will come again :)

  6. starloz

    i love that i’ve given your hair fame. you’re welcome!

  7. Beautiful photos Henry…makes me want to hop on a plane and go to Japan for Tuna Jaw (and all that other food). I LOVED all your instagram photos…hope you’ve got more photos to share.

    Ah love, smlove…you’re a tops guys and I know you’ll meet your true love who won’t mind standing a queue for 2 hours to eat dinner as it’s 2 hours more she get’s to hang out with you (I was 36 when I met mine…you’ve got a few years yet, OK).

  8. I don’t think you need me to tell you that your photos are just gorgeous.

    I like the idea that you’re ‘chasing tail’ at shark bar at 3am, it sounds like you’re in a film noir or something.

    Maybe the girl you waited in line with for the restaurant wasn’t it. The right girl for you? She would’ve said ‘fuck this queue, let’s go get a burger.’

  9. Or you could be marrying the person you started dating when you were 17 and wondering if you’re missing anything O.o
    But I digress.
    If you’re looking to find yourself, you picked a hell of a place to do it. Looks like a great adventure, I’d love to visit Japan :)

  10. Ramen Burger! Amazing! Awesome trip, looked way more fun than the story in the first paragraph. Plenty of time for that!

  11. Dave

    Why didn’t you hug the Japanese lady on the right or left? :)

    I like your post.

  12. Tammy

    I’m at work and I just couldn’t stop laughing at the sign about the poor cigarette.
    I hate you.
    Lovely lovely photos, very jealous-worthy. I know that does not maketh sense.

  13. Just stumbled across your blog and had to tell you that it’s very entertaining. I specially love the look of the bacon and potato pie. It might even be the reason I finally decide to go to Tokyo! Thanks! : )

Leave a Reply

