La la la Bamba – Last Nights Quesadillas

The best laid plans often go astray. I hate that quote, only because I’m not really a plan B kind of guy. Once I’ve got something set in my mind then I tend to forget everything else. I had every intention of making a pesto based pasta dish for dinner after watching some tv cooking show, but alas when I went out on my merry trip to the local woollies they had no basil. After walking around the aisles cursing to myself looking slightly crazy to those around I managed to pick my morale back up and come up with that elusive plan B.

After dealing with the initial disappointment I knew I wanted something I could kick back a few drinks with, ‘cause as everybody knows alcohol makes you feel better about yourself. I also wanted something herby and green (pesto – sigh). So that’s how I came about last night’s dinner.

Lovely readers I present to you the greatest quesadillas ever (recipe half stolen from Jamie Oliver – also no Mexicans were available to vouch for them being the greatest ever at the time)

Ingredients

Ingredients-quesadilla

  • Assorted chillies (I used 8, mix of jalapenos and green chillies)   
  • 1x bunch of coriander
  • 1x bunch of chives
  • 1x ripe tomato finely chopped
  • ½ small red onion finely chopped
  • 150g of cheddar (or queso fresco if you can get it)
  • 8 tortillas

(Guacamole)    

  • 2x avocados
  • 1x ripe tomato finely chopped
  • ½ small red onion finely chopped
  • Juice of half a lime

Method

mixture

    1. Get the chillies, coriander, chives and whiz it all up in a stick mixer till its finely chopped. Use a knife if you want to feel at one with your food, but seriously that’ll just take ages.
    2. Grate your cheese and combine with the chopped greens along with the onions and tomatoes.
    3. Get your mixture and place it in between 2 tortillas and press flat. You should get enough to do 4 of these (hence the 8 tortillas)
    4. Get your quesadilla and place it in a medium hot frying pan. Grill it for 2 minutes on each side or until you get some nice colour.
    5. In the meantime make your guacamole by combining the avocado (mash them first) tomatoes and onions, and finish it off with the lime.
    6. Pour yourself a drink of your choice (I had wine) kick back, enjoy and pretend you’re somewhere exotic… and if you are somewhere exotic then you won’t need to pretend.

quesadilla+guacamole

By the way if you haven’t already determined by the ingredient list these really are quite spicy. If you can’t handle the heat then just substitute the chillies for capsicum or something… otherwise you’ll be paying for it the next day, and if you catch public transport to work then that won’t be a pretty sight or feeling.

6 Comments

Filed under Cooking, Mexican

6 responses to “La la la Bamba – Last Nights Quesadillas

  1. ainslie

    those quesadillas are def a sunday special………….that and i usually shit my pants on a sunday

  2. Dave in UK

    Damn Bryan would’ve vouched for you. Good work yo

  3. Foj

    How can woolies not have basil -_-

Leave a Reply

