Makan @ Alice’s

alices - sign

It’s been 7 years, 180000 kms, 4 sets of tyres and now you’re going away, I’ll miss you so much and I don’t know what to say, I should get over you, I’m getting something better but right now that’s not the case…

I remember the first time I laid eyes on you, just sitting there in a crowded room minding your own business; even then I knew you were the one for me. You weren’t what people would call typically stunning, but to me you couldn’t have been any more perfect. I remember thinking to myself I had to have you, that at that moment nothing else mattered until I could feel you in my arms, caress you in only a way that two beings so intertwined with each other can.

Since then we’ve shared so many experiences together. You’ve helped me grow as a man, but I feel that over time you’re putting up with my behaviour has been detrimental to your health. I’ve noticed lately you’ve been looking a little more tired, and it pains me that I can’t afford to spoil you in ways that you deserve. Perhaps this is why we’ve grown apart. Perhaps this is why I found myself getting my head turned by others. Perhaps this is why I’ve found someone else.

It’s the hardest thing I’ll ever have to do, to look you in the eye and tell you I still love you…

I can’t do this to you anymore. You’ve been far too good to me, you deserve to be with someone who can treat you better, so today I’m letting you go.

Did I disappoint you or let you down ? Should I be feeling guilty or let the judges frown? Because I saw the end before we’d begun, yes I saw you were blinded and I knew I had won…

alices - tinoThere’s always be a spot in my heart reserved for you

So here I am at Makan at Alice’s in Thornleigh on a cold and dreary Thursday evening to say goodbye and enjoy one last moment together.

I’d been meaning to go to Alice’s for awhile now after hearing so many good things about it but never really found the opportunity. Now I didn’t mean for my second Friday post in a row to be about Malaysian food but when you’re going through a traumatic experience, sometimes what you really need is something you know.

alices - rotiRoti Canai + Chicken Curry – $13.80

I’m a huge fan of the roti at Mamak. Judging by the lines and the fake disdain by some people who’ve had their indie favourite brought into the mainstream, who isn’t? I don’t think I’ve had a better roti on a consistent basis even when I was in Malaysia – although that’s not saying much as my travel companion was going through a major bout of food poisoning so we were sticking to ‘safer’ foods. The roti canai at at Alice’s however is incredible. It’s crispy and breaks off into shards and the generous serving of kari ayam is nice and rich without being overburdened by coconut milk. Best roti ever? Quite possibly (although it is abit pricey).

alices - rendangBeef Rendang – $16.80

On a cold and rainy night the Beef Rendang more than hits the spot. There’s a heady smell of beef, coconut milk, lemongrass and the meat is so succulent and tender. The sauce is rich and isn’t watered down at all. Best beef rending ever? Quite possibly.

alices - assamcurryAssam curry fish – $22

Our last order is the assam curry fish and instantly I’m taken to south east asia. I can see the hustle and bustle of the hawker centres and better yet I can see a cute nondescript south east asian girl handing over an ice cold glass of beer. Unfortunately Alice’s is BYO only and I hadn’t thought of bringing anything to make the fantasy a little closer to reality. The tamarind comes through along with the heat this dish packs a slightly zingy punch – although if you’re not a fan of strong mackerel type flavours I wouldn’t recommend this. Best Assam Fish Curry ever? I can’t judge that, first time I’ve tried it.

alices - tehtarikTeh Tarik + Kopi

I walk out of the restaurant, take away in hand and I see you there just standing in the rain. Just like a scene from The Notebook you’re looking so sweetly vulnerable. Am I making the right choice? It’s far too late for this. This isn’t goodbye, this is the end.

alices - tino3

Makan @ Alice’s
262 Pennant Hills Road, (Entry on Bellevue Road) Thornleigh
(02) 9484 8288

13 Comments

Filed under Malaysian, Sydney, Thornleigh

13 responses to “Makan @ Alice’s

  1. ainslie

    you are a nutbag…………….

  2. too much car tears.
    there there.
    in other news, i have seen on voldemort that you are getting your new little baby today? couldn’t wait, could you? you can kiss that holiday goodbye now!

  3. beef rendang .. yum i wouldnt mind some noooow!!!!!!

  4. How sweet, sharing one has hearty meal together. First love???

  5. Dumpling girl – he’s referring to a car. LOL

    Tammy is right. No more holidays. I will have to find someone else to trot the globe with!

    • @Rochelle – Lol, I know he’s referring to his car. It’s just that I’m a firm believer that some guys love their cars more than their other half. It’s hard to separate a boy from his toys or any other gadget for that matter 😀

  6. You had me at rendang (but only if it’s alongside that incredible looking roti. *drool/swoon)

  7. ainslie – i’ll nutbag you in a minute

    gen/ tammy/ dumpling girl/ rochelle – ever since the new toy arrived i’ve already forgotten bout the old fella.

    dolly/ heartbreak pie – the rendang really is amazing here!!

  8. Your photos STILL don’t work on my PC or anyone else’s at CBRE….

    Fran checks your blog every day only to be disappointed by boxes with little red crosses.

  9. ive been wanting to come here for ages for the soft shell crab!

  10. Have always wanted to eat here but it’s never open when I want it to!

Leave a Reply

