Cutting the Fat

My workmate bowled me over in the hallway today. We have this ridiculous game where we like to push each other into things, and 95% of the time it’s me doing the pushing, whether it be into a pot plant, stairways, clients or even the various managers offices. Today however, she got me good. Yes before I go on, the workmate is indeed a she and while I would never lay a hand on a female (in fact anyone in general as I see myself as a lover/ not a fighter with a little bit of George Costanza thrown in), I wouldn’t really label her a female; instead she’s more of a tank/ beast. As I write this post my shoulder is still a little sore from where she nailed me and my head’s a little bruised from where it met the wall after said nailing (get your mind out of the gutter).

This whole ordeal has made me realise that maybe I’m not leading a balanced lifestyle after all. I’ve been feeling a little weak and unfit of late and situations such as this and running out of breath after a quick minutes jog aren’t helping matters much. I tried to rectify this awhile back by exercising on a regular basis, and I can proudly say that I even completed the City 2 Surf in a respectable time. However, having done so I’ve rested on my laurels fallen back into a world of sloth and gluttony. Seems like my penchant for anything deep fried and alcoholic is coming back to haunt me.

Last night in recognition of this I prepared myself something erring a little on the healthier side. I pinched a Donna Hay recipe and bastardised it slightly, and needless to say it was pretty tasty (enough to blog about).

Dear readers I present to you my ‘Feeling guilty ‘bout my state of being white bean and friends toasties’.

Ingredients (serves 2)

whitebeantoast - ingredients

  • 400 gm of canned cannellini beans, drained and rinsed
  • 2 cloves of garlic, roughly chopped
  • 1 lemon
  • Tablespoon of chopped parsley
  • Handful of cherry tomatoes, halved
  • 4 slices of prosciutto
  • 4 bocconcini cheese balls
  • Handful of rocket
  • 1 Chilli, deseeded and finely diced
  • Extra virgin olive oil
  • Bread of your choice (I used pre packaged bruschetta)

Method

whitebeantoast - method

    • Get a stick mixer out and throw in your beans, garlic and half of your lemon juice. Blitz it till you get a nice and chunky paste. Give it a taste and season it to your liking with salt and pepper. (If you don’t have a stick mixer, give it a bash on a mortar and pestle)
    • Get your parsley and throw it in to your white bean mix and give it a good stir with a fork/ spoon.
    • While you’re doing this toast your bread until it’s nice and charred.
    • To prepare the toasties, get your toast and smear with a generous portion of the white bean mix. Throw on a few rocket leaves, a few tomatoes, a slice of prosciutto and tear the bocconcini over it.
    • Simple as that and if you’re like me you’ll want to sprinkle some of the chilli over it along with a good drizzle of olive oil and a spritz of lemon juice (wow all of Jamie Oliver’s favourite things).

whitebeantoast - finished2

By this point you’ve probably realised it’s not the healthiest thing you’ve ever made and seeing as you’re just in time to catch NCIS LA on TV you might as well crack open that bottle of white you had lying around (i.e. you bought with the intent of eating with the meal) and pat yourself on the back for not having succumbed to ordering that pizza you were seriously thinking about an hour earlier. Go on… you deserve it.

28 Comments

Filed under Cooking, Italian, Western Sydney

28 responses to “Cutting the Fat

  1. ainslie

    soooooo a tank/beast………that is the levels u will stoop to to justify yourself hitting that wall like the flaccid clown that you are……….if we all click back to a certain photo of “Daily Bread” on the feature about banh mi….there is a girl standing at the counter, and whilst, yes, she could stand to drop afew kg’s…perhaps quit her gym a while ago, i think it is clear she is not a tank/beast…….you dear sir, are simply, as i put before, a flaccid clown……nice brushetta and two beans btw

  2. Any midget could bowl you over.
    You weak weak man.

  3. Harsh! So other than the white bread, the prosciutto, the bocconcini, and the crap tv show, a pretty healthy meal! 🙂

  4. dam healthy!

    30% of my collegues are on a diet… guess im following suit!

    Ever since blogging ive gained 5 kgs… time to be healthy.. and use ur recipe 🙂

    Keep the healthy recipes coming ;P

  5. It’s healthier than most of my meals, and at this rate I’d never finish the City 2 Surf. Lol, your post makes me realised that I’m definitely in denial and I’m pretty bad.

  6. rarr

    This certainly makes my indonesian fried noodles with a hearty dousing of maggi seasoning + lemon juice with fried/crumbed lobster and prawns on the side that night sound incredibly unhealthy.

    I also ate Sassy’s Red Chinta Laksa for lunch today. Am now drinking a coke courtesy of the corporate fridge.

    And, I can run faster than you – so what does that say about your healthy bean toasties!

  7. Bullshit that’s not healthy. Prosciutto is proven to provide minimum +20 STR even for Level1 mortals. Also gives +7 AGL which can be helpful in marathons. Or you could just bring a riot baton and “raise the bar”.

    I appreciate how this site is a lie.

  8. I agree moderation is a dirty word, but your dinner is a delicious looking change from greasy malaysian!

  9. Dave in canberra

    Four hour body, by Tim ferris.

    Four hours of kettle bell exercises per month is all you need! 😮

  10. That does look quite appetising 😉 but surely not filling enough for dinner?

  11. wow!! You cop alot of crap on your blog haha.

    I know how you feel here man — I have put on 10kg in the last 1.5 yr!!! Stupid full-time office work.

    I hate diets so I’m not doing that — and I love food and like to indulge. So I’m trying to really change up my day-to-day eating habits and reserve the fried stuff for weekends or you know…less often. haha.

    I wanna blog about it more…but I dont know how it fits with “everybody loves ramen” lol!

  12. btw…that looks really yummy!!

  13. As I read those ingredients I was thinking how it didn’t sound particularly healthy at all, but delicious yes, so I laughed when I read your last paragraph 😀

    (I just found your blog via Grab Your Fork’s list, and I’m glad I did – love your style!)

  14. Love, love, love your blog. You’re a great writer. So refreshing to read a blog that’s interesting and well written and maintains your interest through to the end of the post with a lot of wit thrown in. And I think that’s a very healthy meal. My naturopath (who’s very strict with me) would let me have this as long as the bread was gluten free, I omitted the prosciutto and the ingredients were organic – and I wouldn’t tell him about the wine!

  15. I like the intent! Good luck 🙂

Leave a Reply

